Affiliate disclosure: This article contains no affiliate links. The manufacturer links are source references.
Our best probiotics for gut health in 2026 are Thorne FloraSport 20B, Probi Original and Align 24/7 Digestive Support, in that order. Thorne is our overall pick for its documented ingredient amounts and manufacturer-stated NSF Certified for Sport status; Probi is our single-strain pick; Align is our pick for a named strain with manufacturer-reported lot identity testing. The ranking uses the manufacturer pages read for this 2026 guide. Manufacturer Manufacturer Manufacturer
Method limitation: We reviewed publicly readable manufacturer HTML and NCCIH guidance, without taking the products, laboratory testing, auditing certification records or assessing clinical outcomes; our scores measure documented buying criteria, not effectiveness or personal suitability.

The best probiotics for gut health: our ranked selection
We award points for four observable features. These weights are our editorial choice, and the totals below are calculated from them. A missing statement earns no points; it is not a finding that the manufacturer lacks the feature. Amounts earn credit for disclosure, not for being larger.
- Strain identification, up to 2 points: 2 when every listed probiotic has a strain identifier; 1 when only part of the formula does; 0 when none does. Probi lists LP299V, Align lists 35624, and Thorne’s ingredient table supplies HN019 but no strain codes beside its other organisms. Manufacturer Manufacturer Manufacturer
- Exact-product amount, up to 1 point: 1 for a numerical amount per capsule or serving on the selected product page. Probi and Thorne qualify. Align’s selected product page describes guaranteed potency without a numerical count; its education-page figures remain separate. Manufacturer Manufacturer Manufacturer
- Amount timing, up to 1 point: 1 if that exact-product numerical statement specifies manufacture or best-by timing. None qualifies in the captured product-page text. Align’s education page does give both timings, but does not explicitly name the selected 24/7 product in that statement. It therefore adds context rather than a point. Manufacturer
- Named external certification, up to 2 points: 2 for a named third-party certification stated for the selected product. Thorne explicitly labels FloraSport 20B NSF Certified for Sport. Probi and Align receive 0 on this criterion; Align’s DNA-testing statement does not identify a third-party laboratory or certification. Manufacturer Manufacturer
| Rank and product | Strain | Amount | Timing | External certification | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1. Thorne FloraSport 20B | 1 | 1 | 0 | 2 | 4 |
| 2. Probi Original | 2 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 3 |
| 3. Align 24/7 Digestive Support | 2 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 2 |
Thorne leads because its external-certification statement outweighs its incomplete strain-code disclosure under these weights. Probi comes next with a fully identified single strain and a product-page amount. Align ranks last because the numerical potency statement is on a general education page, not explicitly attached to the selected product. Readers who prioritize complete strain identification over certification can choose Probi instead; the category picks below make that trade-off explicit.
Gut-health product comparison: organisms, amounts and directions
| Product | Formula and stated amount | Published directions | Quality or documentation detail |
|---|---|---|---|
| Thorne FloraSport 20B | Lactobacillus acidophilus, Lactobacillus paracasei, Bacillus subtilis and Bifidobacterium lactis (HN019), each at 5,000,000,000 CFU per one-capsule serving. Manufacturer | “Take 1 capsule daily with a meal or as recommended by your health-care practitioner.” Manufacturer | Manufacturer-stated NSF Certified for Sport; listed at $42 for 30 capsules when read. Manufacturer |
| Probi Original | Lactiplantibacillus plantarum 299v (LP299V); 10 billion live probiotic bacteria per capsule. Manufacturer Manufacturer | One capsule daily with liquid or sprinkled over cold food; recommended intake should not be exceeded. Manufacturer | Complete strain identifier in a single-strain formula; the captured page does not specify when its numerical amount is guaranteed. Manufacturer Manufacturer |
| Align 24/7 Digestive Support | Bifidobacterium 35624. Numerical amount not stated on the captured selected product page. Manufacturer | “One capsule a day naturally helps to support your digestive balance.*” Manufacturer | Manufacturer says each lot is DNA tested for its strain identity. The statement does not name an external tester. Manufacturer |
1. Thorne FloraSport 20B: best overall and best blend with named certification
Choose Thorne first if your buying priority is a blend with individual organism amounts and a named external-certification statement. Its product page says the formula supports gut health; that is Thorne’s benefit claim. The page also identifies the product as NSF Certified for Sport. Certification is credited here as a quality signal, not evidence that the supplement will improve a digestive symptom. Manufacturer
The ingredient table allows a more detailed composition comparison than a blend total alone. All listed organisms have the same published amount, 5,000,000,000 CFU, and the serving is one capsule. Only Bifidobacterium lactis has the HN019 identifier alongside it. Treat the other names as published species names rather than supplying strain codes from another supplement or study. Manufacturer
The listed $42 price is for 30 capsules, as displayed when the page was captured, not a delivered checkout total. Thorne’s directions specify a meal, and its warning advises against opening the capsule because it is part of the intended delivery mechanism. That distinction matters when comparing it with Probi’s sprinkle-over-food option. Manufacturer Manufacturer Manufacturer
2. Probi Original: best for a fully identified single-strain formula
Choose Probi Original if complete strain identification is your first criterion. LP299V is the strain disclosed on the page, with 10 billion live probiotic bacteria per capsule. We retain the manufacturer’s “live probiotic bacteria” wording rather than relabeling it as a separately verified CFU result. Manufacturer Manufacturer
For the gut-health connection, Probi says Original has been shown to survive the digestive process and remain in the gut. That attributed statement describes the manufacturer’s rationale for the formula; it is not a claim here that a reader’s bloating, constipation or other complaint will resolve. Manufacturer
Probi’s published intake is one capsule per day with liquid or sprinkled over cold food, with an instruction not to exceed the recommended intake. Its storage statement specifies room temperature and keeping it out of children’s reach. The page’s numerical bacteria statement does not specify manufacture-time or best-by potency, so its timing score stays at zero. Manufacturer Manufacturer Manufacturer
3. Align 24/7 Digestive Support: best for named-strain identity-testing disclosure
Choose Align for the combination of the 35624 identifier and an explicit manufacturer statement that each lot is DNA tested for that strain. This gives a concrete identity-checking claim to ask about. It does not earn third-party-certification points because the statement does not say who performs the testing or name a certification. Manufacturer Manufacturer
Align describes one capsule daily as helping support digestive balance. It also says refrigeration is unnecessary. These are manufacturer statements about the selected product, unlike a recommendation to take it for a diagnosed condition. Manufacturer Manufacturer
Its education page states 1 billion live bacteria/CFU at manufacture and separately discusses potency until the best-by date. That passage says “Align,” without explicitly naming this selected 24/7 product, so it receives no exact-product amount point. The manufacture-time amount is not presented here as an expiration-date guarantee. Ask for the selected package’s numerical potency and guarantee timing if those details decide your purchase. Manufacturer
Which gut-health probiotic fits your buying priority?
- Named external certification plus blend amounts: Thorne FloraSport 20B, our overall pick. Its certification statement and organism-level quantities are the features supporting the choice. Manufacturer Manufacturer
- One completely identified strain: Probi Original. Its LP299V identifier avoids the partial strain disclosure in Thorne’s table. Manufacturer Manufacturer
- A named strain with lot identity-testing disclosure: Align 24/7 Digestive Support. The disclosed DNA testing is a manufacturer claim, distinct from external certification. Manufacturer
- Manufacturer-permitted opening and sprinkling: Probi Original, whose directions allow cold food. Thorne advises keeping its powder inside the capsule. Manufacturer Manufacturer
What the gut-health evidence can tell you
NCCIH says different types of probiotics may have different effects. Matching a named organism and strain to the formulation in research is therefore more informative than treating all probiotic capsules as one intervention. A species name alone leaves a less precise match than the identifiers LP299V, 35624 or HN019 disclosed here. NCCIH Manufacturer Manufacturer Manufacturer
NCCIH also says that in most instances we still do not know which probiotics are helpful, how much people would need to take or who is most likely to benefit. This is why our score uses verifiable buying features rather than predicted symptom relief. The amount column describes the manufacturer’s formula, while a personal treatment decision requires a different kind of evidence. NCCIH
For a research claim, the useful questions are whether it concerns the same identified strain, the same formulation and the outcome you care about. Our comparison supplies the names needed to begin that check, but does not substitute marketing language for an assessment of the research. Probi itself says food supplements should not replace a varied diet and healthy lifestyle. Manufacturer
Safety: published directions are not a prescription
NCCIH advises consulting a health-care provider before considering a probiotic dietary supplement, especially with health problems. The directions quoted here are manufacturer instructions for comparison, not a recommendation to start, increase or combine supplements. NCCIH
Risk deserves its own decision, rather than a bonus or penalty hidden in a buying score. NCCIH reports that few studies have examined safety in detail, leaving limited solid information about side-effect frequency and severity. It says harmful-effect risk is greater in people with severe illnesses or compromised immune systems. NCCIH NCCIH
For the selected Thorne product, the manufacturer advises consultation before use during pregnancy and contraindicates use in someone with a history of hypersensitivity to an ingredient. Those product warnings remain relevant even though Thorne tops our documentation ranking. Manufacturer Manufacturer
NCCIH advises against using probiotics as a reason to postpone seeing a health-care provider about a health problem. A shopping ranking cannot resolve whether a symptom needs assessment or whether a supplement suits your medical history. NCCIH
Buying questions
Which is the best probiotic for gut health in 2026?
Thorne FloraSport 20B is our overall choice under the published scoring method because its ingredient amounts and manufacturer-stated NSF Certified for Sport status earn the highest total; Probi Original is the clearer choice when full strain identification is your priority. Manufacturer Manufacturer Manufacturer
Does a larger bacteria count win this comparison?
No. Our amount criterion awards the same disclosure point to Probi’s stated amount and Thorne’s stated amount. We do not assign extra points for a higher number. NCCIH’s uncertainty about amounts people need makes a numerical potency contest a poor substitute for the question of suitability. Manufacturer Manufacturer NCCIH
Why does Align’s guarantee not earn a timing point?
The education page specifies manufacture and best-by amounts for “Align,” but does not explicitly name the selected product in that passage. Our exact-product rule keeps that distinction visible instead of silently transferring a general statement to a particular package. The same rule gives no timing credit to the numerical statements on Probi’s and Thorne’s pages. Manufacturer Manufacturer Manufacturer